Skip to content

motivation gets you going, habit keeps you going…..

September 17, 2013

One of those quotes that really says it all then leaves it up to us to do it all… Motivation is a tricky beasty, showing up, but not always lingering.  I can be often motivated, yet not nearly as often transported to the habit stage.

Blogging… Motivated, I set out to blog every day for one year…. 7 months in, I am close to the number of blogs… around 212, but they were not written daily.  Truth be told, vaca and assorted good reasons aside, I lost my way with a combination of candy crush saga and a tempermental computer password deal.

The password issue is not resolved, the work around is a combo tablet and office computer…. apparently windows Vista wants to control my password, but won’t tell me what it is!  Or let me have a new one!

candy crust saga is a work in progress, likely not necessary to abandon ‘gaming’, but necessary to restrict due to the the consistent finite 24 hours in one day.  And once one of the hours is used, there is absolutely no way to get it back, reuse or redo. Sigh.

Our Rabbi asked us to take this year to start something new, to finish something that we start, to look at ourselves for available areas of improvement and act.  He provided motivation… he opened a window to the year just begun, to determine who we will be at the end of this year.

What am I motivated to do?  And how will I make today’s motivation a habit, a consistent behavior?   There are obvious choices… subtle choices and out of the box dream goal choices.  I am going to take a bit of time before declaring, as I have learned that early declarations of enthusiasm, not fully designed, rarely result in a new habit….

How about you?  What are you motivated to begin… and finish?

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

