Skip to content

happy new year……

September 13, 2013

that may seem like an odd title for a post in September. However this time of year marks the Jewish holidays of Rosh Hashanah and Yom Kippur. At this time Jews all over the world celebrate the joy of the new year and make those decisions to set up for the year ahead. Specifically it is the time of reflection, a time of reviewing the year past and setting goals for the year ahead. The phrase that means so much to me is, ‘on Rosh Hashanah the book is open and on Yom Kippur the book is closed, who shall live and who shall die who shall prosper and who shall suffer’. This imagery gives me a clear direction to think about where I have been and where I intend to go. Obviously a lot of life is not in my control but a lot of life is in my control. So as we prepare for the close of this year and the beginning of the next, I want to take this time to wish everyone a wonderful year ahead a year of good choices, a year of good friends, a year of good experiences, and a year of good times with those that you care about.

it is about letting go of the times  in the year past that were frustrating, or annoying or perhaps when we were not at our best. It is the opportunity to begin again, to start fresh.  the slate is wiped clean and we have the opportunity and the choice to change.  I find that as I age, get older, accept the fact that life goes by, I realize that I want to be in control of my choices and my decisions.  In some ways I actually have more patience with myself and in others I am anxious to move forward, clearly understanding that time is finite,  so as I spend the next two days in thoughtful prayer I will be getting ready for the year ahead, for the joys that are ahead, for the challenges ahead, letting go of the things in the past and looking forward to the opportunities of the future.

May we all be inscribed in the book of life for a good year ahead!

From → Holidays

One Comment
  1. Debi permalink

    Thanks-Happy New Year to you and your family. Enjoy this time together.

Leave a Reply

